« Quick Fixes | Main | Seek and Ye Shall Find »

11/23/2007

Comments

Denise

Thanks for your comment on my blog - the scouts near us have a jumble sale twice a year, and the Salvation Army have them fairly often (but usually on a Friday so I can't go because of work). Schools used to do jumble sales, but I think they used to end up with so much junk they mostly seem to have stopped.

I sympathize with the washing line situation - our garden is sunny in the summer so we have a washing line that runs the length of the garden. But very little sun reaches the washing line this time of year. My solution is a retractable one - it's attached by just a single screw at one end and to a hook at the other end - just attached to fence posts. It's not as high as normal washing line, but it gets that little bit of fresh air that makes all the difference to the smell and texture of the washing. I think I only paid £2.99 for it!
Best wishes

Gill

Hi Elizabeth,
Yes washing's a pain for me too, I don't have much of a garden (more of a yard) and it's north facing so no sun at all during winter. I use a small rotary line during summer but in winter I have to use a combination of clothes airer on the landing and the tumble dryer for smalls and towels. Like you I had no space for a tumble dryer and I was eyeing up the condenser dryers last year which can go anywhere.But they're twice the price of standard dryers. Then I found the bargain of the year at the boot sale, a condenser dryer which looked like new, the sellers found it in the garage of their new house and didn't want it as they already had one, I paid £30 and it's running like a dream. And due to lack of space it's in a cupboard in my bedroom, strange place I know but with a family of four I need a helping hand!
This is what I want for my small yard next year, should solve my lack of space problem!

http://www.brabantia.com/Index.php?page_id=17&base_group=20314&product=135810

Claire

Hiya

The card is lovely. Couple of tips for you in case you haen't tried them before - I am a member of my local scrap store and got some lovely card for blanks from there, for free, so it's either little or no cost (depends on the scrap store in your area) and I know they do packs of 10 here for £1 if you want them pre-done. If you can't get hold of any let me know and I will send you some. The other thing you may want to try is Freecycle/ Realcycle. They're online networks and run through Yahoo groups. Once you sign up to them you can post wanteds and offers (great for getting rid of random clutter) - I have got some gorgeous craft materials from there before, and the purpose is to keep things out of landfill, and reduce carbon footprints, so if you can get it from your local area then all the better. You may be able to get a tumble drier, or even a couple of big clothes horses from it (as I have) for drying things near radiators - that way they are far less crispy.
Best wishes

Jen

I had to "LOL" because you described washing-drying at my house so accurately... until we got a tumble dryer that is. We have a tiny kitchen so it's in the dining room - not ideal but I could not STAND it any more.

The comments to this entry are closed.