« Hot, But Worth It | Main | Bird Buffet »

06/16/2009

Comments

Teresa

Interesting post MGU. I saw the feature on the TV too and realised I've not given the BBE date much thought, although we generally tend to use most of what we buy before the date is up. I'm sure I must have used food after this date with no ill effects although I can't remember details off-hand.

attila

Hi, I've often found fruit reduced because it had reached it's best before date, and it wasn't even ripe! Bananas, mangoes, plums.

French Knots

I tend to 'sniff it and see' most things are fine after the BBD. I'm going to check my yeast and see if it should be in the fridge after opening - might explain why some of my loaves are a bit flat. I like to use up leftovers but too often find I am a human dustbin and eat them just because they are there!

sharie

I didn't know about keeping spuds in a black cotton bag.... have to go and buy some black cotton now :-)

Heather

Well done Elizabeth on all the food you have salvaged. Our parents and Grandparents coped without best before dates, common sense really! I have eaten chocolate that was out of date and had white bits on it and lived to tell the tale!

Caroline

I'm very interested in the black cotton bag for potatoes - my potatoes are ALWAYS going green and sprouting. Now I've just got to find where I can get one!

The comments to this entry are closed.