« Stuff | Main | Blue Saturn »

01/20/2009

Comments

Ffion

I'm sure I must have had a friend with this book as a child. We definitely made the Indian Head-dresses, had a go at the potato prints and had the tin stilts. The stilts were not that great to play with. And no we didn't make them ourselves!
All the best,

Sandie

Thank you so much for posting the "Things to Make" ... some of the pictures seemed familiar somehow but, being a child of the 50s, I guess they might well do! I recall the Indian head-dress one.

I love seeing the vintage Ladybird books.

Thank you again. xxx

Rachel

Oh my goodness, I had this book as a child, I remember those illustrations exactly!

I always wanted to make the shoe, but alas, I was never allowed an old shoe. I did make potato stamps though, and fell off stilts made from tin cans...

sharie

Thanks for posting some of the projects in the book. I can remember making stamps with an old potato but wasn't very good at it. Never tried the painted shoe - imagine my mother woud have had a heart attack if I'd attempted that. Mind you apart from a tiny watercolour set there were no paints in the house. Guess she knew how dangerous the combintion of a your child and paint is.

Caroline

Oh, I remember this book, I had it when I was a child. Very clearly remember doing the potato print things with my mum!

Gillian

Ooh I think I had the book, the pictures are so familiar...mind you I don't think we had spare shoes in the house for painting, there was one pair for school, one pair for best and a pair of plimsolls!

The comments to this entry are closed.