« Noro Kureyon | Main | 'Bargain Box' Bargains »

06/13/2008

Comments

Gill

I hate waste, I'm usually careful to just buy what I need but inevitably I'm left with some food and I have to confess I've been guilty of throwing it all away in the past. Now I can't afford to do that, blimey haven't food prices rocked?!I try and use up food before buying again now, I'm thinking that shopping more often may help 'cos I'll buy food as I need it then. Difficult when time is tight but worth a try maybe.We should rely on our eyes/ears and noses to tell us if food is "off", most foods are pretty safe beyond the use by date, I'd be careful with chicken/pork/fish but properly cooked they would be safe several days beyond the use by date (well I'd eat them!)
Gill

Claire

I'd waited until I'd seen the programme to comment - part of me was grossed out by the "freegan" guy, but then I detest waste - if my veg is going off I freeze it to put in something later, as all frozen food has a different texture. I have been known to play russian roulette with dates too - every time my friend comes over I have to stop her doing some "fridge archeology" on me! Thought provoking stuff eh?

The comments to this entry are closed.