« Finito | Main | I Procrastinated, Cogitated and Deliberated »

07/03/2008

Comments

French Knots

I don't think it's anything to do with plastic bags, more likely their prices!
People seem to be using thier own bags so much more now, when shopping either locally or at the supermarket I used to be the only one with bags but now lots of people take their own.
As you say to deny the harm done by plastic bags seems inconceivable.

Claire

I agree with the above - I think people who are used to shopping in cheaper food shops are used to having to pay for carrier bags, and this makes people be more environmentally friendly, although I used to see it as an occupational hazard that if your food would be cheaper, you would need to pay for bags. I also see it hitting the more traditionally "middle class" people who have very high mortgages and now have little disposable income. One of the craft fairs that I attend is based in a notably affluent area with M&S and other high end retailers, yet it's known as "bread and lard land" as people have stunning homes but can't afford to eat!

Sharon J

Had to laugh at Claire's comment because I knew a similar area in the town I lived in once. The areas was known as Porridge Hill for the same reason.

As for plastic carrier bags not being a problem, I can't help wondering whether this person has been living on another planet for the past 20 years or so.


The comments to this entry are closed.