« The Heat is On | Main | Woolly Thinking »

07/25/2008

Comments

Heather

Oh phillums! Dad was part scottish too! my favourites? Oh that could be a long long list! anything with Harrison Ford! Love all the early star wars films.
Also the one which brings a lump to my throat without fail is "Awakenings" with Robert DeNiro and Robin Williams - probably affects me because my Mum had parkinsons, not the illness depicted but close.
Off to make a list now!

jeanie

I also love Working Girl, and I just watched it again. Love the ferries, love the views of the World Trade Center. The building in which much of the movie was filmed, by the way, was WTC Building 7, which also collapsed the same day as the twin towers.
Other movies I could watch a million times: Chariots of Fire, also Tea With Mussolini.

Maureen

Phillums and dobeying. I remember them well. The first is also very much an Irish way of pronouncing ( a bit like saying Haitch for H) and my Dad always said that dobeying (which does have it's roots in India) was also a term much used in the navy during and after WW11.

As for movies, I'll watch anything with Christopher Plummer but love The Sound of Music, Etre et Avoir (To Have And To Be) Cinema Paradiso, A Town Like Alice and, one I saw for the first time in years in the video shop only this morning, William Holden in Breezy.

Actually breezy, freezing cold and wet is just what it is down here in New Zealand!

Gill

Anything with Kevin Costner is good by me....T I do like a soppy film too, recently bought Amelie on Ebay but haven't watched it, also The War bride which I really enjoyed. Period dramas too, but generally I'm a bit out of touch with movies and tend to rely on other people recommending them.

The comments to this entry are closed.