« Nearly | Main | Coming Up Roses »

03/12/2009

Comments

Kim

It's exactly the same here too
Kimx

Sandie

Mmmm an interesting post. Although she no longer works there, you might be interested in this post about my sister when she managed a Recycling centre "department store". I am sure if you lobbied your local council, then they might consider something similar.

http://dancingonabladeofgrass.wordpress.com/2008/06/07/the-recycling-goddess/

sharie

My local tip is run by the ex-gestapo... dare to put anything in the wrong spot (there are no signs) and someone rushes out of a small shed shouting and making angry motions. People get banned from our tip.

gill

My tip is the same, they boss you about and don't help you at all but put a bucket out every Christmas expecting a tip...they're having a laugh! I agree we should be positively encouraged to take stuff aaway from the tip, less for the landfill and would surely reduce their costs.
Food for thought.
Gill

The Shopping Sherpa

Wow, you mean your tip doesn't have a recycling shop?

Both our tips have an Aussie Junk (http://www.aussiejunk.com.au/about_us) and we also have Revolve (http://www.revolveact.org.au/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=12&Itemid=28) which has a side store called Revolve Better Bits.

I guess we're lucky!

Wendy

Ours is exactly the same as yours - the yellow-jkts are all twitchy when you arrive. I so agree with you about the good things going off in the skips when there are people who would love to have some of the items. I am book mad too and your description of the book-skip would have made me want to poke around in it with you!

Catherine Lloyd-Evans

I'm sure you all already know about freecycle. We have taken very little to the tip since using it - check it out at http://groups.yahoo.com/group/aylesbury_freecycle/ and search in the box for your local group, then sign up for the email digest.
I've managed to get hold of loads of fab stuff too, without paying a penny! All stuff people would have taken to the dump. Brilliant, it is.

The comments to this entry are closed.