« One, Two, Three | Main | Making Hay »

07/22/2009

Comments

Teresa Davies

Hi MGU, I always used to use carrier bags in my bin until I became more environmentally aware then I began to buy biodegradable bags and take the few carriers I have for recycling. Admittedly they're more expensive than non-bio bags but I try to reduce my impact on land-fill as much as I can. Don't know if there's a better alternative at the moment. Trying to reduce the amount of rubbish in general means fewer bags for me anyway. BTW - like keeping up with your blog.

Caroline

Funnily enough, I was reading an article only this week about how, although supermarkets have massively reduced the amount of carrier bags they give out, sales of bin liners have gone up hugely as well.

The Shopping Sherpa

You could:

a) look for another bin second hand that doesn't need liners (you might have to wash it out a bit more often)

or

b) try one of the zero waste projects so you're not throwing anything out in the first place...

sharie

I use carriers in my bin and also to scoop up dog poo.

Now I'll have to BUY bin bags (can't face the thought of having a smelly bin in the kitchen) and nappy sacks to scoop up the poo.

I know where you are coming from on this.

Melissa

have your less environmentally aware friends bring you their excess! At least you know they'll be used again!

Zoe

I also have this problem. Firstly I am trying to reduce waste so I empty the bin less often. For example I am switching to a flushable cat litter, and I compost and recycle as much as I can. Secondly my friends at work give me their used bags. I discovered that one of them used to just throw them away! Finally in an emergency I have bought some biodegradable bin liners, although I haven't had to use many yet!

Zippy

Where do you think flushable cat litter goes eventually? Out of sight ....

The comments to this entry are closed.