« I Like a Nice Cup of Tea in the Morning .... | Main | Plum Tuckered Out »

09/11/2009

Comments

Jennifer

How exciting to have all of that fruit in your back garden. I've read that putting pears in a paper bag with a ripe banana or apple helps speed the ripening process up (the ethylene gas). I'm guessing all 18 will ripen at the same time :) I have a delicious pear custard pie recipe that I would be more than happy to e-mail you. Basically you slice the pears up and put them in a pie plate and then blend up the other ingredients to form a batter, pour it over and bake. It is delicious and uses 3 pears.

jeanie

Hi there, I live in a famous pear-growing region, and Jennifer is absolutely right about the brown paper bag and ethylene gas--The pears are picked while still rock hard, and many of them go into controlled atmosphere cold storage buildings, and will be sold over the next several months. As you've discovered, pears tend to rot rather than ripen on the tree. It looks like your pears are Boscs, and you probably can ripen a few at a time in a bag and keep the rest in the fridge until you are ready to ripen them. And I am sure this is way more information than you ever wanted on the subject of pears.

The comments to this entry are closed.