« Free Lego Offer | Main | Back to More Normal Things »

11/03/2009

Comments

Teresa

We've had food recycling for a while in our area. The council provided a small plastic container for the house and a large lidded bucket to empty it into outside. They also provide starch sacks for the large bin and empty it weekly. We've had no problems with rats or smells etc. The only glitch was when we looked after my daughter's dogs and one of them chewed the corner of the bucket. Now we just lift it out of the way when they are around - along with everything else!!

Sandie

If it's any help ... you can get a food digester for the garden ...looks similar to a compost bin

http://www.greencone.com/

French Knots

Our council has gone to the opposite extreme and we have 4 wheelie bins outside the house! It certainly saves trips to the recycling centre but takes up a lot of space and looks pretty ugly.
No food collections here but it seems an odd idea, most stuff goes in the children or the compost bin, what would the council do with cooked meat and such like?

sue

I live in Canada and we have been recycling our food waste for a couple of years at least maybe even longer. I do not have a problem at all with it. We have a small container with a lid that I keep under the kitchen sink and a wheelie bin that we empty it into outside. We have not had any problems with rats at all.
With that and recycling paper, plastic, glass etc. most weeks our actual garbage only fills a grocery store plastic bag.
It's just a matter of getting used to doing it.

Ponytail

We've had food waste bins for about a year (I think my council is next door to yours, from reading your earlier blog entries !) and it's been OK. I find the smaller bin very easy to use in the kitchen, and then there's a bigger bin which is the one that goes out. They both close very tightly (there's a locking mechanism in the lid handle) and we've had much fewer problems with foxes ripping our bin bags. It is pretty grotty when you think deeply about it, but I would say DON'T, and just try it out. My tip is to use the compost bags that fit inside (Sainsburys sell them) as they keep the bin cleaner and make it easier to empty.
Let me know if you want more info !

Wendy

After reading your post today I quite sympathise with your rant!
Here in North Wales we have just been given a small grey box to use in the kitchen. We will then have to integrate the contents in our big green garden waste wheelies, which are emptied fortnightly. This is not too bad for me as we have a big garden and 2 green bins so the small amounts of kitchen waste we have will all marry together without the bins becoming smelly and unpleasant. Other friends and neighbours who don't have much green waste will have to empty a few eggshells/teabags etc into a big empty bin, which will be a huge thing to try and keep clean. I was interested in the compost bags from Sainsbury, which Ponytail recommends.

Catherine

I think perhaps you don't realise just how terrible some people are at recycling...! Sure, the cynics among us might think it's just the council trying to make money,but this poor old planet's in a right mess, and I sometimes think if certain types need a heavier boot up the bum to do their bit, then fair enough.
I love our food bin - there are certain utterly unrecyclable things in our house, like tiny bits of leftover sandwich from lunchboxes, or cheesy pasta sauce from the kids' tea, or other things which really can't be saved - and I for one hate putting them in the landfill bin.
I agree it would be ludicrous for someone like you to be fined, but I'm sure at least a few bits of uneaten dinner would go in there each week? And I agree with a few other posts - ours lives under the kitchen sink and is perfectly hygienic - great when I'm clearing away and washing up! I'd be lost without it!

The comments to this entry are closed.