« Me Myself I | Main | Anticipation »

10/05/2010

Comments

Debbie

Hi there
I have just found your blog and really enjoy reading it.
Your post today really struck a cord with me as I feel exactly the same way. I really worry about the amount of junk that is for sale in the 'cheap' shops, most of it unfit for purpose. I am glad to find I am not alone.

Sarina

I only just dropped by. Yes, there is a lot of crap about.
How we define what`s important to our lives is the key to selecting what we buy. Being more aware of the crap in our lives might stop us from adding more to what we have. Good perspective to have, I think.

Caroline

Great post, Elizabeth - absolutely spot on in my opinion, and sentiments that are very close to my own heart as well. Hope you're feeling better soon.

Librariann

Hello, hope you're feeling better v soon. Definitely too much rubbish around. I think people think it's OK to buy something if they then pass it on afterwards, forgetting that by buying it in the first place, they're creating a demand. Has everyone forgot that the original green slogan was "REDUCE, reuse, recycle". If we don't buy so much stuff in the first place, we won't need to recycle it.
I like knitting but just because I'm making something unique doesn't mean I'm not creating more stuff in the world. I'm trying hard to reduce what I have at home and turn it into useful stuff that I need, rather than yet more scarves (I only have one neck...).
Thanks for the book receommendation - I have a feeling I'd really like this.

Itsformybaby

I totally agree with your post, and with the previous commenter about REDUCE reuse recycle. I might have to check out this book.

The comments to this entry are closed.