« Low-Fat Living - Ten Days In | Main | January Buying and Selling Roundup »

02/07/2011

Comments

sharie

Wow thats an old find. I think the oldest find comes from 1910 which is the bag I sold on Dickinsons Real Deal.
Nope, .... correct myself... while typing that I just looked up to see my watercolour from 1889 which I picked up a couple of years back. I'd forgotten all about it and its sat on the wall in front of me LOL.

Wendy

I thought that this item was so interesting. We couldn't get over the date either. The advert on the front is priceless - Tricycles especially adapted for the amateur photographer - amazing. What a bit of history you got for your 20p.
Very interested also in your last post on low-fat living, do hope that you keep us uptodate about how you get on and the things you are trying out.
Wendy x

Shoestring

Wow, that's amazing! What are you going to do with it?

susan johnson

My oldest find: about a year ago I came across two beautiful old books at our local St. Vincent DePaul thrift here in Arizona. They had wonderful leather binding, gorgeous end papers, and fly-spotted pages. I snapped them up for $1.00 each. When I got them home, I discovered that they were printed in - get this - 1792, and were stamped "from the Library of Vanderbilt University" in Tennessee (half-way across the country). Since there was no "discard" info on them, I suspected that they had been borrowed and never returned. I contacted the Vanderbilt librarian and he replied that those two volumes (part of a set of 6) had been missing for 7 years. I mailed them back to the library -- and hope that I've gained some good karma for my future searches.

Susan J - Mesa Arizona

The comments to this entry are closed.