« Spinach Soup | Main | A Good Haul »

09/01/2012

Comments

Petunia

Generally, I think it is tacky, especially if we are talking about a small amount of money. People who feel like they MUST get everything cheaper bug me anyway, lol.

Now, I have to say, we have thrift shops that have half-off sales either every week or every month. The older merchandise wil be on sale at that time. I do sometimes feel like it would make more sense to mark that stuff down permanently, rather than lower the price for just that day. Yes, the idea is to earn money for charity, but they also get all their merchandise for free.

Mum

I work in a Charity Shop and yes quite a few people ask for something off the marked price. Our prices are quite a lot lower than most CSs in the area and they are definitely getting bargains at the price we put on the goods. Our aim is to turn over stock quickly and our displays are forever changing. As a result we have many 'regular' customers.
Love from Mum
xx

gill

Hi Elizabeth,

No, I wouldn't hsggle in a charity shop as I would be too embarrassed to, but I do think that means the charity shops who overcharge(BHF being one of the main culprits)get away with it and don't know how strongly their customers feel about their inflated prices. Like you I just walk away (actually, often not even go in there in the first place) so they've lost a whole lot of potential customers due to their greed. At the end of the day they are selling USED clothing and goods which has all been donated after all.
I volunteer in a small local charity shop and the manager is very realistic about pricing, one of the cheapest in town but sales are healthy so she's doing something right.Incidentally we are supposed to charge 2p for carrier bags but there are always used supermarket carrier bags that we use and only use the chargeable ones if no choice. I agree, it's appalling that customers should have to pay for the carrier bag.Interesting post, sorry for my lack of comments, have had health problems but on the mend now and feeling like joining in again!
Gill x

fiona

I'm with you Elizabeth, and would never haggle. If the price is too high I walk away. I also think that BHF prices are outrageous and rarely go there these days. How shops can justify charging for carrier bags when so many come free with donations, baffles me. Surely they should be recycling these too ?

Maureen

I would never haggle no matter the price.

Having said that we do have one op-shop here that is very expensive but they have some lovely vintage items and you take every purchase home in a fabric bag made from materials not used.

Toni

Well, I have to say I did haggle the other day in a CS! Not something I would normally do, but there was a lovely knitted mens' jumper from Harrods no less! It was priced at £4, which I didn't think was bad, but as I went to pay for it, I noticed a moth hole in it. So I asked the assistant if she would mind lowering the price and she said it shouldn't have even gone out with a hole in it, and happily sold it to me for £2.
PS. Love your posts!

Emily

Hello only just found your blog and it's amazing!!!

Okay until today I would have completely agreed with ou...
But
I went into my local charity shop and I picked up a cardigan, it was lovely very cosy. I thought yes I'll have this, carried it round with me and I wasn't until I got to the till I found out it was £20!!!! I mean seriously it was nice but not to pay £20 for a second hand cardigan with buttons missing. I could pay £30 in next for a brand new one. I was applied and did offer £10-15 for it but she said no so I didn't take it.

Some charity shops are getting to greedy I think!!

Lots of love Emily x

Penny Wise

Hi I found your blog today and have been having a most enjoyable read with my coffee this morning! I like you would sooner walk out a charity shop without an item than haggle over the price. I am always amazed at regional price differences and will drive to a different area for a bargain if I think the prices are better there.

The comments to this entry are closed.