« Home Alone | Main | Finally, Some Decent Thrifting »

01/29/2008

Comments

Claire

That has just reminded me to clean my windows - I have told David that we are cleaning the house this weekend - really thoroughly, as it's not been done that well since we moved in. And we have smears all over the inside of the windows about a foot above the windowsill where the cats rub their noses, then covere that in cat fur, and do a really good Marcel Marceau impression trying to get at the bird/leaf/neighbours cat that has dared to stray into the garden.... I also smiled as I was always brought up thinking dusters were really made from old pants and vests (it wasn't until I was a late teenager that I realised people could buy them....) and in particular dusting with my dad's old vest. I use laddered tights to clean my mirrors - they work really well!

The Shopping Sherpa

Sounds like you need a Window Wizard or other magnetic doohick which lets you clean the inside and outside of the window at the same time...

Gill

Yes I grew up thinking that dusters were made from old t-shirts too! And I still have a bag of them on hand for all sorts of jobs around the house. I used to hate the pink Windowlene, I could never quite get all the pinkness off the windows and mirrors. The clear is so much better, but as I'm lucky enough to have a window cleaner I only have to do the insides. I have a bit of a love/hate relationship with Pete the window cleaner,every time he calls he's had some sort of crisis or problem and I end up feeling very sorry for him. Currently he's out of action with a broken leg! But I also know he charges more than others in the area, so I sort of reluctantly keep him on because of all these problems he has....he tried to put the price up last year and I said we'd have to stop using him...funnily enough he called back the next day and said he'd carry on at the same rate. I'm waiting for him to put prices up again once his leg has healed,I guess he'll be wanting to make up for not working for the last couple of months.

The comments to this entry are closed.