« S*dding Rodents | Main | The Singing Ringing Tree »

02/26/2008

Comments

Claire

I love days like that - they bring back so many lovely memories for me too. I clearly remember being a child in the late 70's and in winter wearing duffel coats, I loved the toggles on them and think I even have some from one of my old ones on my button tin, and in summer, anoraks, with that kind of braid that was stitched next to the zip, or ric rac. I loved them and in all honesty would probably wear one now given half the chance. I have a lovely photo of my older sister in the mid 70's, with long hair (she cut it off when she got older and has never grown it back since), a skirt above the knee, an anorak and knee high socks - she looks so lovely and cute, but she changed rapidly and wouldn't entertain the idea of wearing anything that would remotely bring attention to her now. Such a shame to not feel the freedom we all had when we were little. Reading this has prompted me to get my photo album out now!x

Ali

Do you mean the "snorkel parka", complete with grey fake fur hood edging? Those were what the cool kids wore at any rate.
I was stuck in dufflecoatsville, but rebelled by never ever wearing one, substituting it with two sweaters and a scarf instead. Ah, youth!

mandsanorak

Yes, I remember navy blue quilted nylon anoraks very well. My parents thought the only shop available was Marks and Spencer and we were given the blue diamond quilted anoraks for school and home. By the time I was bought mine, in the Bath M&S in about 1971, the toggles round the hem and hood had been replaced by elasticating the hood and the hem, but otherwise it was the same design. They were very popular and lasted for years. You put patches for the exotic places you had visited - like Lyme Regis - down your arm.

Mick

What memories! My parents bought me the blue quilted hooded nylon anorak which had the soft fur in and around the hood. I hated it to begin with, then grew to love it especially in the winter when with the hood up and drawstrings tied off it kept my ears toasty warm. I would love to own one now! Do they still make them?

J

I always had a navy blue parka, with orange quilted lining. You can pick these up on ebay, all originals. I own quite a few now as they are becoming rare. I wish a company would start to make the parkas again to the same spec as the ones from the 80's.

Peter Clay

I always loved those 60's blue nylon quilted anoraks and somehow never had one. Can anyone out there oblige - name your price.

The comments to this entry are closed.

Blog powered by Typepad

Blogs I Like