« One Needle Bad, Two Pointy Sticks Good | Main | Reasons to be Cheerful »

11/09/2007

Comments

jill

Hi! Yup, found my family came from all over the country when I started to research. The old myth about living around your family seems to have broken down in my family in the mid 1800's. Makes for a ver y intersting story thought! Jill

Gill

My brother is researching our family tree, and yes we're mongrels! Mum's family come from all over the country, Dad's were East Enders through and through. Mum and Dad moved to Hemel Hempstead in the late 50s, it was one of the new towns being built to get people out of London (which was still devastated in parts after the war). I was born in Hemel,but do yearn to have a "country life" sort of lifestyle and I wonder if that's my genetic memory?
BTW my brother's wife's family can be traced back to THE William Shakespeare! Now that's what I call a thoroughbred.

The Shopping Sherpa

Complete mongrel: Kiwi born Aussie with ancesters from England, Scotland, both Irelands, Sweden and Czechoslovakia :-)

claire

Hi Elizabeth,

You hertitage sounds fascinating and i'm a mongrel too! My dad's family were originally from Devon and my Mum is from the Highlands, and yes, these are too of my favourite places so I do believe it comes down through your genes somehow. But I've always lived in Kent and I'm really sentimental about the place -don't think I'll ever move!
I won't even start on Roland's background -he is truly global being a mixture of Russian and Venezuelan.

And I love your "seasonal" surname. Is Christmas your favourite season?

The comments to this entry are closed.